Powered by Blogger.

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Museum's in Sri lanka

The Folk Museum is in the sacred city close to the Archaeological Museum and has a collection of artefacts illustrative of the rural life of the North Central Province. Open daily except Thursdays & Fridays from 0900 Hrs - 1700 Hrs. Admission :

Within the Fort of Galle in a Dutch Colonial building in Church Street is the Cultural Museum adjoining the New Oriental Hotel.The artefacts reflect the art and culture of the Southern Province. Open daily except Mondays from 0900 Hrs - 1700 Hrs.

The National Maritime Museum, Galle
Located within the Fort of Galle in a colonial Dutch ware-house with imposing pillars. This museum displays the fauna & flora of the sea and the environment. Artefacts consist of preserved material and scale models of whales and fishes. Generally, all the resources of the sea are covered in this Museum.

It also shows in diorama form with life size models, the traditional methods of fishing. Some artefacts of under water archaeology are on display. An interesting experiment is the `walk-into-the sea' diorama, showing the natural coral beds, sea grass beds and deep sea fishes. Finally, one leaves the museum seeing the causes of sea pollution, coast erosion and methods used to combat these problems. Open daily from 0900 Hrs - 1700 Hrs

Weera Puran Appu Museum
Housed at Weera Puran Appu Vidyalaya, New Galle Road, Moratuwa. This museum exhibits items in relation to the life and times of this great hero who fought the British against unfair levy of taxes and injustice and laid down his life in defence of the country.

Bandaranaike Museum
Housed in the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 7, the museum contains photographs, objects and documents portraying the life and times of the late Prime Minister, S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike. Visitors can listen to recordings of some of his famous speeches. Open daily except Mondays and full moon days from 0900 Hrs. to 1600 Hrs

Archaeological Museums
The Archaeological Department has established Archaeological Site Museums in Anuradhapura (ancient city). Isurumuniya, Mihintale, Veheragala, Vavuniya, Jaffna, Sigiriya, Kandy, Dedigama, Yapahuwa, Panduwasnuwara, Kotte, Matara (Star-Fort), Deegavapiya and Kataragama.. Archaelogical museums are open daily from 0800 hrs to 1700 hrs but closed on Tuesdays and some of them will be close on public holidays too.

No comments:

Post a Comment